Lay Day for Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast

[ 0 ] March 7, 2013 |


SNAPPER ROCKS, Queensland/Australia (Friday, March 8, 2013) -A lay day has been called for the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover with only small surf on offer throughout event venues of Snapper Rocks, Greenmount, Kirra and Duranbah Beach.

The opening events of the 2013 ASP World Championship Tours, the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast have enjoyed consistent surf thus far throughout the window, with the men’s event completing Round 1 and the women’s event determining the Semifinalists. Event organizers will wait for conditions to improve before recommencing competition.

“The surf has decreased this morning and we have called a lay day for both men’s and women’s competition today,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “Forecasts are projecting the surf to build back up over the coming days so we’ll return tomorrow to reassess conditions and make another call then.”

Officials will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

When women’s competition resumes, up first will be Tyler Wright (AUS), 18, against reigning five-time ASP Women’s World Champion and defending Roxy Pro Gold Coast winner Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 25, in Semifinal 1.

When men’s competition resumes, up first reigning ASP World Champion Joel Parkinson against event wildcard Brent Dorrington (AUS) in the opening heat of Round 2.

Highlights from the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover will be available via

For more information, log onto

SF 1:
Tyler Wright (AUS) vs. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
SF 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) vs. Carissa Moore (HAW)

Heat 1:
Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brent Dorrington (AUS)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 4: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 5: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 6: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 8: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Nat Young (USA)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 11: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 12: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. Kolohe Andino (USA)